Roy Vagelos (Chair) is a highly regarded pharmaceutical executive who was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the multinational pharmaceutical company Merck. In addition to his many business accomplishments, Dr. Vagelos is the author of more than 100 scientific papers, and has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society. He received his M.D. from Columbia University and currently serves on the board of directors for Regeneron and Theravance.

Richard Axel is a professor at Columbia University and a neuroscientist whose work on the olfactory system won him the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (together with Linda Buck). In addition, he co-discovered a technique of co-transformation, a process which allows foreign DNA to be inserted into a host cell to produce proteins. These important findings resulted in several patents, often referred to as the “Axel patents” covering a fundamental process in recombinant DNA research as performed a bio-pharma companies and earning a top spot on the list of university licensing revenue. Dr. Axel is a graduate of Columbia University and received his M.D. from Johns Hopkins University.

Michael Brown is a geneticist and Nobel Laureate. He is currently Paul J. Thomas Professor of Molecular Genetics and Director of the Jonsson Center for Molecular Genetics at UT Southwestern. He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine together with Joseph Goldstein for describing the regulation of cholesterol metabolism. Dr. Brown received his M.D. from the University Of Pennsylvania School Of Medicine.

Laurie Glimcher is the Dean of the Weill Cornell Medical College. Dr. Glimcher has been the Irene Heinz Given Professor of Immunology at the Harvard School of Public Health, and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and she is a specialist in osteoporosis. She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and a member of the Institutes of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. She received her M.D. from Harvard and is also a member of, and past President of, the American Association of Immunologists.

Joseph Goldstein is a Nobel Prize winning biochemist and geneticist, and a pioneer in the study of cholesterol metabolism. Dr. Goldstein received his M.D. from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. In 1985 he received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (together with Michael Brown) for his research on the metabolism of low density lipoprotein (LDL), and has won numerous other awards for his contributions related to genetic diseases. Dr. Goldstein is a Regental Professor of the UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas and currently serves as Chairman of the Albert Lasker Medical Research Awards Jury and is a member of the Boards of Trustees of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and The Rockefeller University.

Paul Marks served as President and Chief Executive Officer, of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (“MSKCC”) from 1980 to 1999 where he helped to establish the high standards for research and patient care. He remains a vital part of MSKCC as President Emeritus and Member of the Sloan-Kettering Institute. Dr. Marks’s research in cell biology and cancer genetics has made major contributions toward a new approach to cancer treatment and prevention, through the development of new and more potent chemotherapy and chemoprevention agents. Dr. Marks received his MD degree from Columbia University and postdoctoral training at the National Institutes of Health and the Pasteur Institute.

Bengt Samuelsson is Professor Emeritus of Medical and Physiological Chemistry at the Karolinska Institute. Dr. Samuelsson became Professor of Medical Chemistry in 1967 at the Royal Veterinary College and Professor of Medical and Physiological Chemistry at Karolinska Institute in 1973. He was Rector of Karolinska Institute (1983-1995) and Chairman of the Nobel Foundation (1993-2005). Professor Samuelsson was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1982 together with Sune Bergström and John R. Vane for “for their discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related biologically active substances”.

Marc Tessier-Lavigne is a neuroscientist who is president of The Rockefeller University in New York City. He was formerly Executive Vice President for Research and the Chief Scientific Officer at Genentech. Dr. Tessier-Lavigne is the first industry executive to assume the Rockefeller presidency. He has been elected a member of the United States National Academy of Sciences and as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and a fellow of the Royal Society and the Academy of Medical Sciences in the United Kingdom.

Elie Wiesel (Honorary Member) is a Nobel Laureate, a Holocaust survivor and human rights activist. Liberated from Buchenwald in 1945, he was taken to Paris where he studied at the Sorbonne and worked as a journalist. In 1958, he published his first book, La Nuit, a memoir of his experiences in the concentration camps. He has since authored nearly 30 books. In his many lectures, Wiesel has concerned himself with the situation of the Jews and other groups who have suffered persecution and death because of their religion, race or national origin. Now a US citizen he is a visiting scholar at Yale University, a Distinguished Professor of Judaic Studies at the City College of New York, and since 1976 has been Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities at Boston University. Elie was Chairman of the US Holocaust Memorial Council (1980-1986) and serves on numerous boards of trustees and advisors.